The Well Wishers

As I have previously mentioned, I have been overwhelmed by the support from my friends, family and colleagues. Some of the comments have been emotional, others funny and some inspiring. I wish I could share them all with you, but that would be ridiculous, and slightly over the top. So, below are just a few examples or themes for your perusal.

Brave/Strong This is something that has been mentioned by several people. My sister even put it on Facebook. My first Doctor on the AMU said that I was the bravest patient she has ever had. To be fair, she was a junior Doctor. Oh and to be fair, I am blowing my own trumpet. That is a joke. I don’t see my current mindset as being brave or strong. It’s just practical. It would be negative to my progress if I sat around all day lying in bed feeling sorry for myself questioning why this was happening to me. I would be lying if I said that I had not thought or said these things. I have also said that I am going to die young and I will no longer be a wife or mother as I had once hoped to be. But constantly thinking these things and playing them
around and around and around in my head will waste my energy on something I had and have no control over. So in a nutshell, not brave, practical. That’s me.

Enough of that though… There’s other stuff too.

The Metaphor
‘It was a story about cancer being similar to a boxing match. The first blow knocks you on your arse and you have a choice, either lie on the canvas and wait to be counted out, or get back up and start punching your way out. Sounds to me like you’ve decided on the scrap’

Inspirational Quote
“If the future seems overwhelming, remember that it comes one moment at
a time”

Pure Genius
‘Hi Emma, I am so sorry to hear that you are so unwell. I find it very difficult for that to sink in as you are such a babe and a bubbely person and always out on the razz!…

Prayers with you.

Get well soon.

Take care”

AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

