Chemo Is A Go

Can I get a high five please?

After a bit of drama yesterday and apprehension this morning, I was seen by a Medically Trained Person who told me that my toothache was a toothache and I could have my treatment today. So, here I am, sitting on the second floor of the Macmillan Centre receiving a litre of liquid, which is a mix of cyclophosphamide (chemotherapy) and saline. To be clear, a litre of liquid administered intravenously is a lot of liquid. Like, a real lot. Two hours worth to be precise and before that, I had two bags of other medicine, which apparently, will help prevent me from vomiting up my dinner later.

This is it. It’s the start. It’s what I have been waiting for for six weeks. Longer. I was devastated yesterday when I thought I was going to have another delay. Right now, all being well, is the beginning of the end of this chapter of My Myeloma. I have waited six months to get to a point where I can see an end, and I can. I don’t want anything to take it away. The drugs are going in me, right now. As sick as I will get from this chemotherapy, I simply do not care. I don’t care how sick I am going to get during the transplant. I just want it to end. And today, is a massive, massive step. It is here.

I have never been so happy to have an IV. See?

20130219-174827.jpg

Now, let the powers keep me safe and infection free so I can adhere to my word processed timetable.

I just want it to end.

EJB x

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Chemo Is A Go

  1. lexborgia says:

    This time next year! You’ll be a millionaire. E.J’s Independent Traders.

    You deserve a high5, but you’ve earned a drink.

    Caribbean Stallion(one of your favourites)

    Ingredients

    25 ml (1 oz) tequila

    25 ml (1 oz) Malibu

    25 ml (1 oz) crème de menthe

    Smidgen of Campari

    Merest suggestion of Angostura bitters

    Fresh grapefruit juice to taste

    Slice of orange to garnish

    Wedge of lime to garnish

    Seasonal fruits to garnish

    Method

    Stir ingredients over ice in a mixing glass, strain into a highball glass and garnish with a slice of orange, a wedge of lime, occasional seasonal fruits, a decorative plastic umbrella, two translucent straws, and voilà!

    Lovely Jubbly.

Leave a Reply

