Bureaucracy

It would appear that on Thursday, I cared enough about this to start writing a blog about it, for I just found this in my phone. I will share it with you now, but I have a feeling that my anger, may have been steroid induced and this blog acts as a good example of my personal and irrational steroid rage rather than a social commentary about bureaucracy within the NHS. You decide. It does seem like a strange thing to get annoyed about, but I can occasionally be ‘hot headed’.

So here it is, a rant, apparently…

I have experienced the NHS in all it’s glory since I was diagnosed. I have received some very expensive drugs, been scanned so that there are now no secrets and had cement put in my back. I love the NHS.

That said, today, I have rocked up for my treatment as I have done 40 times before and I was told that for the time I am in Daycare, all 90 minutes of it, I have to wear a patient tag. Apparently, some review body said that it is compulsory. What an absolute load of Codswallop. Nobody looked at it. I knew they wouldn’t. It’s just an extra thing for me to remove when I get home along with the cotton wool on my veins.

20130331-183536.jpg

I cannot understand how this is going to improve my care or indeed anybody else’s on the second floor. Does this review body actually contain Medically Trained People? You are wasting my time.

So, that was indeed a rant. I could hide from it, but part of me finds it incredibly funny how angry being temporarily branded by the NHS made me. There must be bigger things for people to care about… Like, faster treatment and better corned beef sandwiches, perhaps?

Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps.

EJB x

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Bureaucracy

  1. Terri J says:

    You mention having cement in your back. Did that help you? 2 of my daughters vertebrae have been damaged from the Myeloma causing her body to lean. She is not in pain. We went to see an orthopedic & talk about the procedure for the cement but her bones are to soft for them to do it now. She is receiving Zometa treatments 1 time a month for the next 2 years. I think she should have the cement when she is allowed but she is reluctant. Any input you can post would be helpful.

    • ejbones says:

      I had the kyphoplasty really early on into my diagnosis, because I had fractured my L4. The pain was unbearable before the operation, I could not wash myself, or bend or do simple things people take for granted. The operation was instant pain relief and almost instantly I could stand up straight. It still took a few months for my mobility to improve further.

      I have several other lesions in my spine and they are being treated by Zometa. I’m not sure if further operations are available to me. I’m hoping they can sort the rest out with radiotherapy, which I have already had on my hip and that also worked.

      I’m not sure if that helps.

    • Terri

      Kyphoplasty saved my life! I could’nt stand up straight, or indeed stand up for more than about 5 minutes. I couldn’t lie flat on my back. And I couldn’t live without oxycodone. And within a few days of kyphoplasty, none of those things were any longer true.

  2. Emma

    My hospital has just gone all high tech and now they come and scan a qr-code on my wristband, each time they bring me treatment. So I have been turned into an item off a supermarket shelf

Leave a Reply

