Green Giant

I am not one for censorship, but I am going to censor everybody I know right now.

Since I was old enough to eat, I have loved one vegetable above all others. It is yellow, it comes on the cob, in a tin and in my freezer. It is heaven. So, imagine my intense fear, which has been forming over the last eleven months when I was told that a certain someone, can no longer eat the kernels of heaven, after his transplant because of the association of smell. If I have to live with myeloma, I cannot live without Mamma Jones’s roast chicken, rice, gravy with some yellow treats on the side. No way. It cannot happen.

I know I am strong, but on this particular subject, I am going to have to be the strongest I have ever been. I must be brave. I must block out the white noise. I am not going to smell it.

And so, I beg of you, whether you see me in person or if you put it in writing, do not, absolutely do not say that I, my surroundings or anything in fact, smells like sweetcorn. I beg of you. Our lives depend on it.

Thanks,
EJB x

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Green Giant

  1. Jet Black says:

    I guess that was one benefit I had… my sense of smell is damaged so I knew nothing about it. Just breathe through your mouth and think of your mum’s yummy dinner. x

  2. Terri J says:

    We smelt garlic not corn , but it didn’t last long & didn’t turn us off of Italian food.

  3. Ten people on Facebook left encouraging and supportive comments for you and 108 hit the “LIKE” button at my request to let me know they read my message to send you energy / prayers / great mojo in whatever way they do it!! If you want to read them, send me a follow=up request by e-mail and I’ll link you in. Lots of us are cheering you on!!

Leave a Reply

