Ambulatory Care

Howdy Partners. Today is officially known as Day 3, for I had my transplant three days ago. Lest we forget. That equates to five days in Ambi Care. Welcome.

20130720-201739.jpg

Today, I feel worse than I did yesterday and yesterday, I did not feel particularly sprightly. Sure, I have made myself go to the Clinic and sure, I got in a taxi and attempted lunch out, and sure, I finally did a number 2, but, with all that said and done, I know I am on a one-way ticket to the hospital. I have been in bed, staring into ITV for the last three and a half hours. It may be tomorrow, it may be Monday, but I can sense my days in Ambulatory Care are numbered. Things that did not hurt yesterday, are hurting. Here’s a tip, if, for some ever reason you find yourself in a similar position to me in your future, do not wear control knickers. You do not need anything drawing further attention to your stomach.

Soon, I will not be sitting with up to five other people with PICC lines in their arms. Soon, my observations with not been done daily, but every four hours. Soon, I will not have to look out for the side effects, because I will be in them. Soon, I will struggle to drink. Soon, I will look like this all the time and not for a majority of the time.

20130720-201752.jpg

‘Incredibly well’ my arse.

I wish I could make all of this smell of roses.

EJB x

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Ambulatory Care

  1. Terri J says:

    I know you are not feeling well but each day is another step closer to getting to the other side of this. My daughter was in the hospital for the whole procedure & one good thing about that is they hook you up to everything & you don’t have to worry about taking meds, drinking enough water or eating. They gave her fluids, nutrients , meds , platelets all thru the lines that were placed in her collarbone area. I did notice you said it took a couple of hours to get your stem cells, hers they shot 3 bags into the lines with big plastic needles. It took 15 minutes. We are getting ready to celebrate her Transplantiversary on Aug.17. What a difference a year makes! One day at a time. Your counting days up now. That’s a good thing.Positive thoughts coming every day for you.

  2. Deborah says:

    Thank you Emma for sharing your journey. I learn so much from you. One day they tell me that I will need the stem cells that are in the freezer. I am hoping for a cure to be found prior to that date. But if I am ever in that position I now feel more equipped to be able to cope. I don’t know if you ever read my blog perhaps that sort of thing doesn’t interest you, I am a dreamer it is all I have to keep me safe from reality. On Tuesday I will be at UCLH seeing the consultant I will get the results of my last bone biopsy. Myeloma feels to me like one long wait and I don’t like waiting , it seems we have forever to wait to be ill but I suppose the alternative in reality is pretty grim (why would grim be pretty?), so I will go back to dreaming. Last Saturday I dreamt Jarvis Cocker would sing at my party, the dream came true so anything in my world is now possible it has to be. I hope your waiting to be ill will very soon turn into the wait to be well again. If you can think of anything I could bring you whilst you hang around in Ambulatory Care or in the Tower please let me know and I will bring it in.
    Deborah x

    • ejbones says:

      Thanks Deborah, I must admit that I do not read other blogs. I can’t. My personality makes it too much of a competition for me (one that I am losing) plus, I know people who have gone through most of this already, so reading more about it, would probably only confuse things further. I’ve spoken to Macmillan about it, that I am so keen to blogging, but that I did not read any others, and we agreed that I should steer clear of support groups. At least for the time being. Also, I am incredibly independent, and I struggle sometimes with people not understanding that it is a personal experience. The Internet makes people incredibly dogmatic I find.

      It is good that you do not have to have a transplant right away… Shame you have to have a doctor’s appointment though. They are no fun at all.

      I now plan to spend the majority of my day, waiting.

  3. Terri J says:

    Everybody’s journey is different. When I had Breast cancer I could not follow anything on the internet or join a support group. It was to scary. My daughter who has Myeloma is the same way. She went to one support group meeting & found it way to negative. She follows a couple of blogs with young people like herself but that’s all. It is a personal experience & sometimes you have to let it all out to help others & to let people understand what you are going through. Your sharing is helping & honestly I’m a little obsessed at seeing what you post each day because you are young like my daughter.

Leave a Reply

