0.01

I spent all day yesterday in bed. I did not shower. Filthy bitch. There were many reasons why I did not leave my bed yesterday and keep up with my personal hygiene, all of them, rather predictably, stem from stems. Yesterday, despite the fourteen episodes of slime and my cramps which felt like toddlers were doing the Macarena in my stomach, I felt like that side of things, my bodily fluids, are improving. It is hard to full decipher whether this is an accurate assessment, or whether it is an attempt by me to fool myself into thinking I am getting better.

That said, my fatigue don’t lie. By now, we have such a relationship, where I am merely passive aggressive with him, when he comes in expecting a clean house, dinner and the mental capacity to jigsaw. There is nothing else new in my bag of myeloma goodies, unless you count the sore throat, which worsened after I foolishly drank some water in my sleep yesterday morning.

In spite of all of this tomfoolery, during rounds yesterday, something exciting happened. It’s not actually exciting, it is just words, but to me, they were magic words because it meant that there is starting to be a foundation to my hope that this will be over soon. Dare I say, maybe even a scientific basis to it. The Senior Medically Trained Person told me that I was going toturn a corner in the next day or so. Tea! She did add that this would not result in me feeling better instantly, but I will feel an improvement at least. Tea! Please let it mean tea! Oh bugger, what does an improvement look like?

I occasionally thought about this between my snoozes and cramps yesterday. Like rock bottom was not tangible, neither is an improvement. It’s more fun to look forward to though. . The waiting again, is another thing that would frustrate, were I not on a healthy dose of opiates.

If I want something in my pocket, some proof, I could use that fact yesterday, I had a minuscule, as in, means very little, neutrophil reading of 0.01. Every other day this week, it has been less than that, as in, no reading. It’s a tiny step forward, but one that put a smile on my greasy face regardless.

My fingers are firmly crossed that today sees an improvement somewhere. Come on. My fingers are also crossed for a shower for I need to erm, remove some of my hair before it all by itself.

EJB x

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “0.01

  1. Terri J says:

    I have my fingers crossed for you too.

  2. Intending…. and cheering those neutrophils onward and upward!!

  3. lovethebeach says:

    Hello Emma – I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time now. Just wanted you to know that, like Sandy Banks, I’m cheering you on!!

  4. Hang in there – just to let you know that I am thinking of you and praying these difficult days will very soon improve. Good start with the neutrophils – I second Sandy’s intentions – onward and upward dear lady – you will succeed!

  5. hello emma,

    here is another one to add to your cheering section. hoping tea will comfort you with no naughty side effects – after all, it’s TEA!!!

Leave a Reply

