Bureaucracy – An Update

Some time ago, I attempted to explain the form filling nightmare that is the British benefits system. To be fair, I expected to fill out forms, just not as many as I did, nor did I expect to have to prove that I was not a Big Fat Liar. Three months on, however, I am in exactly the same situation I was in before I spent a considerable amount of my time writing my name and national insurance number over and over again.

If one thought that as policy makers, governments worked at a snails pace, it appears they work at a similar speed in all other areas under their remit. I am generalising here, incorrectly of course, for our Government is great, I am only talking about the Department of Work and Pensions (DWP), and then I am not even really talking about the DWP, for they have passed my claim on to a contracted out company for assessment. My claim has been under their assessment for 92 days and they are yet to have looked at it. Let this be a lesson to you all, contracting out services works!

I have applied for something called Personal Independence Payment, which replaced the Disability Living Allowance. I am well aware that I do not need the full payment this benefit can offer. I do however, find that there are certain things that cost more money, now I’m a a disabled. Travelling costs more money and it is more difficult than it was before. I get more buses because I cannot walk as far, I even venture on the tube now, even more occasionally than that, is the luxury of a taxi because I get too tired to move and my back feels like it is going to snap; these may sound like small things to you, but they cause me no end of headaches. In my flat, I cannot properly clean and I cannot carry my groceries. I attempted the Hoover yesterday, and let me tell you, today, I very much ache, despite my double dosing last night. There are small adaptations to be sure, but adaptions that cost me money that I do not have, or ruin my few good hours a day with unnecessary pain.

It is not just your money I am after. I really and truly want the government to recognise me as ‘disabled’. It would well and truly make my disabled life much easier, if I were qualify for the national concessions. It would make my bus journey safer and it would give me more energy when I am being driven. It would mean that I would not always have to say why I am disabled.

I have been waiting for the outcome of my PIP claim, before I pursue local options, as it means that I would have to jump through less hoops.

I am becoming doubtful, that I will ever receive extra support. I mean, I get up and go to work, so why do I deserve any help?

I chased my claim last week, not by actually running after it, but by picking up the telephone and calling the DWP. After fifteen minutes, I was told that my claim had been received (they do not send acknowledgments or holding letters), and it had been forwarded to ATOS to process. It was forwarded to ATOS on the 26 September. Helpfully, I was told that this was a long time ago and it should have been processed by now, for this process should take between 6-8 weeks. I was then given a schpeel about the various stages of making a claim, and I was told that they may contact my Medically Trained People (paraphrasing) to see if I am truthful (paraphrasing again). That was exactly the same information I was given in September, and given the fact I had to provide contact details, I found this statement outrageously shocking. Oh, and I may be asked to attend a physical assessment. The DWP could not help me further, so I was given the telephone number of ATOS, to hasten a response directly.

Twenty minutes later, I spoke to a lady at ATOS, who informed me that they were in fact in receipt of my claim, and I needed to be aware that when my claim is being investigated, my Medically Trained People will be contacted and I may be asked to attend a physical assessment. I asked why it was taking so long, in my polite voice, stating the timescales I had just been given by the DWP, to which the the lady became agitated. According to her, the DWP had no right to say that to me, indeed, the DWP is to blame for the whole thing, because they underestimated the number of PIP claims to be processed when they introduced the new benefit, and presumably, contracted out the service. The lady was mad. I feel I calmed her down when I said “okay”. She then decided to tell me that when my claim is processed, I should expect for my Medically Trained People to be contacted and said I may be required to attend a physical assessment. It was good to know, because I had forgotten. We finished the conversation with me being told that there is no timescale by which my claim needs to be processed, when it is, I’ll be contacted by the post.

This is my first experience of the UK benefits system. I am very impressed by it.

I just know that when I finally receive the letter, the dog will have eaten it before I have a chance to read it.

EJB x

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Bureaucracy – An Update

  1. Terri J says:

    Paperwork, Paperwork. In this day & age with computers you would think all the agencies would be hooked together on the computer which would process quickly instead of at a snails pace. one of the problems is that each time you talk to a different person & they each tell you something different. As far as being truthful, why would anyone want to pretend they have this disease? Have the ATOS come live with you for a couple of days & they will see how truthful you are. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

