Cilit Bang – User Survey Spring 2014

Today is a Friday and thus there is 50/50 chance of today being a Velcade Day. Velcade Day always promises to be eventful and by eventful, what I actually mean is a day that features waiting, a short sharp scratch or three and fatigue. The following fortnight between the next Velcade Day will feature fatigue, pins and needles, dead limbs and an attempt at living.

Today was a Velcade Day. I awoke with great enthusiasm at receiving what will now be my 51st injection of the magic bleach. Alas, that did not happen. My Velcade has been postponed due to an increase in the side effects from it, which as I have said before feels like I have rubbed my hands and fingers in fibreglass. Occasionally, it feels like I am shooting lighting bolts from my toes whilst something simultaneously attempts to remove my toe nails. More often, my limbs will go dead after a short period of rest. Since my last injection, I have also noticed an increase in me dropping things. I need little assistance in being clumsy. Last week, whilst reaching for some toilet roll for reasons that are obvious, I dropped the roll and recreated an advert for Andrex minus the Labrador puppy.

So, yes, no Velcade for me today. Instead, I get to wait a fortnight to see if things improve and the Medically Trained People will then decide what to do next. I suspect, I will continue on the disinfectant, but it will be more like a dose of Detol kitchen cleaner than the full Cilit Bang.

Recent events create a mass of questions in my head about the future and length of my remission. It is further complicated by the fact that I was told a fortnight ago that my treatment would come to an end in five more injections. The week before that I was told my treatment was indefinite and today I was told the same thing. In my life, I value consistency and people not getting my hopes up.

On the subject of consistency, as much as I appreciate everything the Medically Trained People do in the wonder of 60 Huntley Street, the timely administration of my Velcade is an annoyance. In the last 10 weeks, only one of the six appointments have gone ahead without some sort of glitch. The most popular cause of delay is due to the Pharmacy not making the big juice in advance of my arrival. The same thing happened today, it was then made by the people in white jackets, to then find out that I would not have it. Ever the cautious tax payer, I hope it now does not go to waste. Maybe that is their argument for not making it before I get there, but I am a busy woman. I do not want a two and a half hour appointment for something that can take thirty. I value my employment.

Right, I think that just about covers where we are with my treatment. But before you jump out of your socks, ecstatic that I will no longer get my Velcade fatigue on Sunday and Monday, I did still have the bone juice today. The bone juice, as much as they say it should not, has sent me to bed. And thus, the normal Velcade Day feeling resumes.

I have got that Friday feeling. I think it feels different to yours.

EJB x

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Cilit Bang – User Survey Spring 2014

  1. Terri J says:

    I know every case of Myeloma is different. My daughter had 5 months of Velcade with Dex before her transplant that put her in complete remission.About 3 months after her transplant she was put on maintenance therapy of 5 mg Revilmid. She also gets the bone juice medicine once a month. The Revilmid is VERY expensive but she has a grant & only pays $50 out of the $13,000 a month cost. She doesn’t really have side effects except fatigue at times which I think is part of the disease. It is very FDA controlled. It saves her making trips to the doctor besides the monthly bone juice & every 2 month visit to her oncologist.
    Since you are in England I don’t know if Revilmid is approved over there or how it would be paid for with socialized medicine. Her grant is actually from the CELGENE company that makes the drug.
    She hasn’t gotten a definitive answer as to how long she will be taking this. I think it depends on how the patient is doing.

Leave a Reply

