The Drug Regime

I have been on my new treatment for 12 days now. Considering I have been through it all before, twice before, it is taking some getting used to. They come with endless side effects. It is a list that is long and is literally a pain in my bum. Practically however, taking the drugs, sorting through the drugs, swallowing them and remembering to take them is a chore. It’s a regime, it’s a 24 hour drug taking regime. If I were lighter, I would rattle. I am not light, so I do not rattle. My overflowing drugs drawer does that for me. It is overflowing into my make up drawer and that drawer is already full. The stuff in the drawers isn’t even the drugs I have to take for the next week, for they are in my handy dosette box. It would be impossible to remember to take everything without the handy organiser. That’s a tip from me to you. Invest.

.

20140713-183758-67078996.jpg

I have yet to work out how many drugs I take every day. I am doing that as I type. I keep throwing numbers around, 15, 20, 30. You get the gist. It is a lot. This blog, will act as a useful exercise, if only so I can accurately boast about how many pills I have to take, when most people opt to take vitamins. Anybody who has myeloma, or any form of cancer for that matter, will not be surprised by the volume of drugs. Correction, free drugs. I know I must be used to the number of pills, by the volume I can fit into my mouth and swallow in one go. You have to give it to myeloma, it has given me one hell of a gag reflex.

As My Myeloma has given me some delightful feelings in my spine, I do not only take drugs to combat the disease. I also get to take a daily cocktail to manage my pain. Unfortunately, we are not quite at the point where that pain is managed. That will come. In the meantime, I am on four different types of medication, excluding the bone juice, which allow me to get out of bed. Currently, because I have decided to up my MST dose, I am taking more pills as the pharmacy decided to give me 10mg tablets instead of 30mg. They will receive a request the next time they dispense to be certain.

My four week treatment cycle involves three weeks on Revlimid, and four days (bar cycle one when it goes up to eight) days of steroids. So I can take these, I then have to take six other types of medication to protect my body from bugs and other fun things.

The Sharps Box is also back. It’s still yellow.

Oh, and as I still experience the side effects from the menopause, I continue to have HRT seep into my skin from a semi permanent patch on my bottom.

The contents of daily dosette box then, is currently like this (italics equals pain):

MORNING
1 x Aciclovir 200mg
1 x Ranitidine 150mg
1 x Allopurinol 300mg
2 x Docusate Sodium 10mg πŸ’©πŸ’©πŸ’©
2 x Paracetamol
4 x MST 10 mg
1 x Diazepam 2mg

AFTERNOON
1 x Co- Trimoxazole 960mg (three times a week)
1 x Aciclovir
2 x Parcetamol

EVENING
1 x Revlimid 25mg
1 x Aciclovir
1 x Ranitidine
2 x Docusate Sodium πŸ’©πŸ’©πŸ’©
2 x Paracetamol
3 x MST 10 mg
1 x Diazepam 2mg

1 x Fragmin injection

On Days 1-4, after breakfast, you can also add;

20 x Dexamethasone tablets

On my week off, I get to skip the Revlimid.

So, if my maths is correct, I take between 26 and 48 pills a day and an injection. If I am having a particularly bad day, I may also take 10mg or two of Oramorph and another Diazepam…. And I wonder why I cannot poo.

I’ll tell you something for nothing, it’s a lot of packaging.

20140713-190949-68989437.jpg

EJB x

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Drug Regime

  1. Barbara Brock says:

    And then my Doctor wonders why I don’t want to do chemo.

  2. Terri J says:

    Those dosette boxes really help.

Leave a Reply

