The Power Floor Sweeper

WARNING – This blog contains product placement and mention of things that most people will find dull

Today, I am going to tell you a little tale about a household appliance.

Some people would be forgiven for thinking that my life at the moment is nothing but a big black pit of terrifying negativity, but you would be wrong. You would be very wrong, for on the 25 December, Santa Clause revitalised my ability to clean up mouse poo, the stuffing from a dog’s toy and the occasional mess I make, without having to put my back in harms way.

Santa Claus in the human form of Mamma Jones, gave me the G-Tech Power Sweeper! It’s not a vacuum cleaner, it’s an electronic sweeper. I can understand why some people would not be able to see the distinction, but there is one that is important to me. A big one. The sweeper allows me to clean, a Hoover or dustpan and brush do not. The latter two, more traditional pieces of homeward either weight to much, require bending, and inevitably cause pain. You may think this development is ‘boring’, and I might think that the fact I keep talking about it to anybody I have a face to face conversation with is making me quite beige, but we would all wrong.

The ability to do light cleaning (deep emphasis on ‘light’ here for I am still incapable of many, many things) might not be life changing, but it is something that allows me a teeny bit more of pain free independence. How many people can say that an electronic sweeper has that sort of power over themselves? And in my current days of austerity, it is at least worthy of a lighthearted blog.

.

2015/01/img_1316-0.jpg

EJB x

* Please note that the G-Tech SW02 Cordless Power Sweeper does not negate ones need to Hoover

Tagged

2 thoughts on “The Power Floor Sweeper

  1. Ian Rippon says:

    Hi Emma,
    I read your piece in myeloma matters. Thank you for that. You put a lot of things into words that I’ve had trouble explaining to others. I liked your title “myeloma does not define me” – I think mine would be something like “a lot of what happens is down to luck (good and bad) – but sometimes you can stack the odds in your favour”.

    I have a few years on you though – diagnosed when I was 54 (and told I was young to have this!), 5 cycles of CTD, autologous stem cell transplant, and I’m now 3+ years post transplant. Maintenance treatment now is 4 weekly blood test and bisphosphonates (zometa) – and I haven’t needed any painkillers for more than 2 1/2 years.

    Then on the bones side – collapse of T10 and T12, balloon kyphoplasty in T11, fractures in all the bottom 2/3 of vertebrae, lost 15cm in height, limited to lifting no more than 10kg, need to lie down and rest for 45+min every lunchtime. Had to retire from work – didn’t have the time or energy to be productive.
    My support regime now includes 2 weekly acupuncture, weekly massage, 2 weekly therapy, daily exercises, walking, gym every couple of weeks.
    And I’ve done a lot of alternative stuff, and continue to do some….

    I couldn’t have done all this, and don’t think I’d be in as good condition as I am now, without a supportive partner, and the support of friends and family (though the family all live a long way away).

    So on many levels I feel for you and with you. It can get better; but who knows for how long? (answer – nobody!)

    • ejbones says:

      Hi Ian, thank you for commenting.

      I started physiotherapy during my relapse and the plan was to eventual get me on the gym doing light exercise (because all I seem to do is expand and the steroids do not help that). Unfortunately, that all stopped including my acupuncture, which I found most helpful when I relapsed in June. The focus then became fixing my new bone disease. I used to try to walk everyday but that has been limited because of my pain and now more so because of the fatigue. I just have to find little ways round things. My focus now has to be keeping my brain exercised I think.

      I know I’m lucky with my family and friends. The difficulty, I think at least, is that I do not look ill at the moment, so people, even those I am close to, assume I’m the Emma of old. Yesterday I had six hours at the hospital which was followed by immediate bed time and a very sore back.

      Oh well. Today is another day and I’ll work through whatever it throws at me.

Leave a Reply

